Visible mending

Visible mending

This work makes the darning process visible as ‘scars’ on the cloth it acts as a reminder of the different experiences of conflict and especially the ‘invisible’ mental traumas of war.

I have been looking at the website of Hannah Lamb who I recently happened upon while reading ‘Embroidery’ magazine. I was intrigued by her work ‘Invisible Mending’ which in her words; ” makes the darning process visible as ‘scars’ on the cloth it acts as a reminder of the different experiences of conflict and especially the ‘Invisible’ mental traumas of war”, the link to her site is shown above. I thought this was a really interesting comparison to the way I was viewing the repair and stitch work used in Japanese ‘Boro’. I felt it illustrated the love for the family and the need to keep them warm whereas Hannah Lamb has used it to illustrate war and and trauma. Its an interesting juxtaposition of emotions.

I am becoming quite interested in continuing along the same lines of research that I used for my FMP in my second year and seeing how far I can go with it for my FMP for my third year BA top up.

