Next stage FMP

I have recently been looking at Anne Morrell’s amazing stitch work where she has used a very simple running stitch repeatedly which in turn manipulates the fabric. Going back to Boro textiles they used a sashiko stitch which was similar to a running stitch and was quite labour intensive as they counted the threads in the weave as the were sewing. I recently attempted using a running stitch to emphasise a design for fabric manipulation and I really like the results. I used as similar colour to the fabric as I could find in a similar vein to Anne Morrell and I was intrigued with the result. Very understated broken line but when the fabric was held to the light the broken line appeared like a very fine pencil line. As some of my original research contained thoughts on stitch I think it is necessary for my work to contain stitch especially if it is to have ‘me’ in it.

20130117-235506.jpg

20130117-235536.jpg

The first picture is of Anne Morrell’s work and the second is the little sample I did.

