Summary of survey results

Earlier on in my research I devised a survey on Survey Monkey to find out if people repair or reuse their clothes or textiles and to find out what motivates them to do so.  I left the survey open for as long as possible in order to get as many people as possible to complete the survey, I felt that the amount of people that did complete the survey would not give accurate results but on reflection I do feel the do reinforce my original ideas.

When I asked if people attempted to repair or recycle 8.3% answered Yes, 58.3% answered No and 33.3% answered sometimes.

From that question those that answered No did so mainly because somebody else did it for them but the next popular answer was because it was easier and cheaper to buy new.  This reinforced the popular idea that we leave in a throw away society where people with little spare time make the decision to discard and replace as opposed to repair and reuse.

Those that answered Yes were split 50/50 between doing it to reduce costs and doing it because it was something their family had always done.  However, of all of those that answered Yes 66.7% of them also did so because they were attached to the item and wished to increase its life.  I find this aspect really interesting as it does give some weight to theory that cloth and stitching can be imbued with memory and history due to the owners fondness and care.  Of all the people that answered Yes not one of them said they did it for ethical or ecological reasons which tells me as a society we haven’t got to the stage yet were people automatically consider these factors.

I asked if people felt they possessed the skills to repair and this was a quite an even divide with 41.7% answering Yes and 58.3% answering No.  When asked why they felt they did not possess the skills to repair of the 58.3% 50% said they had never learned and 50 % said they did not feel they would be able to do it properly.

I did find the survey useful, it certainly reinforced my original ideas but I am left in no doubt that responses to the survey would have been more beneficial leading to more accurate results.

