Final Major Project Research

I have been given a brief for FMP research and would like to document my work and research on this blog.  I recently came across Japanese Boro whilst browsing the internet and was totally captivated by the beauty of what is essentially  a ‘load of rags’ and I have chosen this subject to begin researching.  I am aware that there may not be a lot research out there on Japanese Boro other than the information that can be found on the internet but I am going to use it as a starting point because I am attracted to textiles that are not only ‘vintage’ but have been worn, worn and worn again.  This may be because they were a dearly beloved item or perhaps because money was scarce and the textiles were cherished and used for as long as possible.

Today I feel most people buy fashionable clothes and discard them once they are damaged (which happens easily with cheap throwaway clothing) or as soon as they are out of fashion.  I feel many people would not even contemplate attempting to repair an item that has been damaged… is this because they are too short of time or is it because they do not have the confidence to do so?  If I repair an item of clothing rather than replacing it it gives me a sense of achievement, making a bed sheet last longer by repairing a frayed edge or patching a small hole makes me happy whenever  I look upon the repair.   It alters the way I feel about the item, it suddenly has more of ‘me’ in it.

‘The intrinsic (to a degree) flexibility of cloth means use inevitably exerts wear and tear.  With repair comes the possibility of reinvention, at which point new questions come into consideration: Does a patch have to match?  Should a darn be obvious or sympathetic in texture and colour?  A patch is practical; it replaces but it allows something new and unexpected to be fused with what already exists.’ (Brennand-Wood M, 2010).

http://threads.srithreads.com/

